Cambridge Exams

The Cambridge English tests are a suite of English certification exams, each of which delivers a test-specific certificate that is valid indefinitely. Each Cambridge exam tests a specific level of English, so you must first choose which exam is appropriate for your level for by taking the Cambridge placement test online.


There are quite a few Cambridge English tests, but only the most common tests available for adults are discussed on this site.

Test name level CEFR
KET elementary A2
PET intermediate B1
First Certificate upper intermediate B2
CAE advanced C1
CPE fluent C2
Linguaskill all pre-A1 to C2

Test design

Cambridge English tests are often proposed in a school or workplace setting, but they are also available to individuals at authorized test centers both in the UK and around the world. The design of the Cambridge exam suite of certifications makes them particularly appealing to schools and other institutions. It is common for a school to offer a lower-level Cambridge exam at one grade level, then a higher level exam a couple of years later, and finally an even higher level exam near graduation. In this way, a student is building a portfolio of Cambridge English certifications. This design is very different from any of the other standardized English tests.


Since 2016, all Cambridge exams have used a harmonized scoring scale, but each exam can deliver scores on a limited range of the scale according to the level of English being tested. The Cambridge English scoring scale used by all the exams is aligned to the CEFR. There are many ways to prepare for a Cambridge exam, depending on your goals and schedule.